Tapton School Academy Trust

Members of our Academy Advisory Council

Fred Woodruff - Chair of Tapton School

Fred was a former pupil and has been a Governor of Tapton for many years. All four of his children have attended Tapton from year 7.

He became a member of the Trust when it was first established in July 2011 and now chairs the Tapton Local Academy Committee. His background and experience is in the area IT and Governance.

Sarah Draper - Chair of Chaucer

Sarah has been a governor at Chaucer for 5 years and Chair since September 2016. Born and brought up in Birmingham, Sarah entered teaching in Sheffield in 1978, progressing to headship in 1997. After 10 years as headteacher in a north east Sheffield school, Sarah spent 6 years working in the Local Authority’s Children and Young People’s Service ultimately as Assistant Director for Inclusion and Special Educational Needs. Apart from being a governor at Chaucer, Sarah has also chaired two Interim Executive Boards in Sheffield.

Sarah has two adult children who attended Sheffield schools and has three grandchildren in Sheffield nursery and infant schools. Now “retired,” apart from her work as a governor, Sarah spends time looking after grandchildren, horse riding, gardening at home and on an allotment, and as a volunteer for Riding for the Disabled. Amongst other things she enjoys researching family history and reading.

Sarah describes herself as “having always been committed to ensuring that all children and young people have access to the highest quality learning experience” and having “ a particular determination to overcome barriers to the learning, achievement and success of children and young people from less advantaged backgrounds.”

Julie Burkinshaw - Chair of Hillsborough, Meynell and Southey Green

Julie was teacher governor at Hillsborough Primary for eight years and returned to the governing body after leaving her full - time post at the school in 2010. She became Chair of Governors in 2013 and was elected Chair of the amalgamated governing bodies of Hillsborough, Meynell and Southey Green schools in 2015. She still works in education as a supply teacher, which allows her the opportunity to observe practice in many different settings. She is determined to help improve life chances for the children in all schools she represents. Outside work and governance, Julie sings in a local community choir and is a member of their volunteer committee.

Rebecca Bustani - Chair of Hallam 

Rebecca has been a school governor since 2010. Having been Vice Chair she took over as Chair of Governors in the lead up to Hallam School becoming an academy. She is also link Governor for year 5 and the PTFA. She has a son and daughter who have both been pupils at Hallam Primary School who are now at Tapton School.  She is Matron for Antenatal services at the local Jessop Maternity wing where she has worked for the past 13 years. When she isn’t working you can find Rebecca spending time with her family, at the gym or watching a movie.

Jayne Crawshaw - Chair of Forge Valley and Wisewood 

Jayne is a co-opted governor. She has been a School Governor for 14 years and joined the Governing Body at Forge Valley in 2013. She is a Librarian by day doing a job she loves and was born to do.

Outside of work, Jayne enjoys socialising, music, reading. As a Governor she is 100% committed to the role. Jayne truly believes all young people should be given every opportunity to develop, aspire and achieve to the best of their ability, so when the time comes to leave us they are ready and equipped with the skills needed to have the best life chances possible. She will support and challenge the school in this endeavour.