Tapton School Academy Trust

Members of the Trust

Caroline Bagley

Caroline was a founder member of the Tapton School Academy Trust when it converted in 2012. Caroline is the Trust chair and until recently also the Chair of Governors at Tapton School.

Alex Pettifer MBE

Alex retired from his post as the Director of Estates for Sheffield Hallam University in 2010 for which he managed a workforce of 630 staff, a budget of £20million along with an annual capital programme of £25million.

Alex was awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday honours List in 2010 for his “Contribution to Higher Education and the Community of Sheffield” and awarded an Honorary Doctorate by Sheffield Hallam University in November 2011.

He is The Chairman of Sheffield Industrial Museums Trust and 7 Hills Leisure Trust, Deputy Chair of Sheffield City Trust and a Trustee of South Yorkshire Community Foundation.

James Scott

James joined the Trust as a member in 2017.  He has been involved with the Trust for a number of years prior to this appointment, including being a past governor of Tapton School

Liz Smart - Chair of Members

Liz is an experienced Head of Law School with a demonstrated history of working at institutional level in the higher education industry and legal professional education.

Liz is a TEF Business and Law Panel Member and Institutional Lead for Sheffield Hallam University, a National Teaching Fellow and Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy.

Liz is skilled in public speaking, leadership, team leadership and quality assurance. She is a strong legal professional with an Executive MBA focussed in Law; National Police Consultant and Assessor.